Not the Write Time?

Okay, it’s been two-plus weeks since my surgery; my oncologist would get tremendously upset with me if I were to say, “since he gutted me like a fish,” – because, apparently, it’s self deprecating… so I won’t say that. It’s been fifteen days since my surgery (albeit only four since that teensy weensy oozy setback) and I keep feeling like I ought to be back to writing by now. Except that (yes I know this is a sentence fragment; hey, I’m under the influence of Percocet, leave me alone, okay?) every time I begin to think about writing, I decide it’s time to take another nap.

Well, I guess I should enjoy them while I can – the naps, that is. I mean, I seriously doubt my employers [no matter how fond they are of me] would not take kindly to me snoozing beneath my desk. Kind of evokes odd memories of George Costanza from Seinfeld, doesn’t it?

I had been hoping to rejoin the working world this coming Monday… but that depends on a number of factors:

1) whether I’m feeling sufficiently energetic after my followup appointment with the doctor that day;

2) whether my darn company-issued laptop plans to cooperate and recognize the VPN this time (hey, the ubiquitous “they” always tell us the third time’s the charm); and

3) whether the words will actually cooperate and come out to play when I call upon them – and not just spend the afternoon lollygagging about in my cranium until I threaten to coax them out with a crowbar. Okay, so I wouldn’t really do that; who in her right mind (write mind?) would use a crowbar to dislodge adjectives and prepositions? Everyone knows you’re supposed to use a small claw hammer.

What? You were expecting additional factors? Wasn’t three enough for you? I distinctly said it depended upon “a number of factors”; is three not a number?

Okay, okay… in case you find yourself in desperate need of a fourth factor, how’s this grab ya?

4) whether “Take a nap” supersedes everything else on my to-do list.

It occurs to me that each of those four factors may be boiled down, in essence, to one overarching reason: Good writing cannot be forced, cajoled or bribed. When it’s not the right time, it’s not the right time. Period.

That said, it’s probably time for another nap.

3 Responses to Not the Write Time?

  1. Toni says:

    Your a real person, not just lines on
    On a page. Thanks for sharing part of your life. I’m reminded I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me Philippians 4:13 in the Bible,
    Thank you,
    Stay well
    Toni

    • persnicketyproofreader says:

      Thank you, Toni. I’ve always felt one key to being a good writer is the ability to convey a real sense of humanity. I, too, can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

      On February 4 I will celebrate being eight years cancer free; those days of recuperation I wrote about seem so far removed… although I do still enjoy a good nap now and again.

      I appreciate your kind words, Toni.

  2. […] opined about them… yet. But give me time and I eventually will. I was going to say “writing in one’s own time,” along with a variety of topics in between. Some posts have been rants, others I wrote […]

Leave a comment